The Buttonwood Tree http://buttonwood.org Performing Arts & Cultural Center Wed, 04 May 2016 20:39:00 +0000 en hourly 1 The Tile Project http://buttonwood.org/the-tile-project/ Wed, 04 May 2016 20:16:58 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=1620 During the months of April through August, members of The Buttonwood Tree are mounting a fundraising campaign that will bring a beautiful visual art installation to the foyer of our facility at 605 Main Street in downtown Middletown. A 46”x 58” space on the wall will be filled with a ceramic tile mosaic of an artist’s interpretation of both our mission and our buttonwood tree logo. The area holds a total of 154 tile squares used in the artwork. Each tile, sold for $50.00, represents an investment in the extraordinary performances, connections, and good will found at The Buttonwood Tree every single day.

Won’t you express your support for what we do by purchasing one or more of these tiles? Your name will be engraved on a bronze plaque that will hang alongside the finished piece. The tile work will hang in the lobby for a period of two years before being retired to another location in the facility.

As a purchaser of a tile, you will also be invited to a special reception where the work will be unveiled for the first time and be given an opportunity to meet with the artist as he/she discusses the work.

 

 

 

]]>
Great Make Believe Society http://buttonwood.org/great-make-believe-society/ Wed, 27 Apr 2016 21:44:04 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=1575 Featuring: JUST ADD WATER from Yale University

Sunday May 1 7pm

]]>
Middlesex Drum Circle http://buttonwood.org/middlesex-drum-circle/ Wed, 27 Apr 2016 17:28:03 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=538 On the 4th Thursday of each month at 7:00pm. A group of people that enjoy a good drum rhythm, especially when put into a circle. No reservations are necessary, extra percussion instruments will be available, though you are encouraged to bring your own. $5 donation.

]]>
Great Make Believe Improv Show http://buttonwood.org/great-make-believe-improv-show/ Wed, 27 Apr 2016 16:37:18 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=546 Usually FIRST SUNDAYS at The Buttonwood Tree – it’s comedy and fun with the GMBS Improv troupe! Don’t miss your chance to join in!
Watch The Great Make Believe Society perform different kinds of improv comedy! See the styles of improv comedy made popular in Chicago, Los Angeles, Boston, and New York! Watch improvised scenes created right before your eyes, based on your suggestions! Comedy fit for the family!

Check the calendar for the next show!

]]>
Drum Circle at Harbor Park http://buttonwood.org/drum-circle-at-harbor-park/ Mon, 18 Apr 2016 20:38:03 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=1536 The Buttonwood Tree is hosting a drum circle on Saturday May 7th from 12-5pm as part of the Wesleyan University community’s Feet to the Fire Festival. We’ll be at the entrance to the park tunnel. Come join us!

]]>
Crystal Bowl Sound Healing http://buttonwood.org/crystal-bowl-sound-healing/ Sun, 17 Apr 2016 16:32:51 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=542 Crystal Bowl Sound Healing is held every third Tuesday at 7:30pm! Hosted by Lou Sorrentino, sound healing combines psychological therapies with music to heal the body. With instruments such as Crystal Bowls crafted for perfect resonance, Lou restores energy flows to their proper states and bring peace to our bodies.
Donations welcomed

]]>
Carrie Johnson & Julia Russo http://buttonwood.org/carrie-johnson-julia-russo/ Sun, 10 Apr 2016 13:57:05 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=1494 with Belle of the Fall

Friday May 27 8pm

]]>
The French-American Connection: http://buttonwood.org/the-french-american-connection/ Sun, 10 Apr 2016 13:55:16 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=1492 Christophe Rocher, Joe Fonda & Harvey Sorgen

Saturday May 21 8pm

]]>
Cobill: http://buttonwood.org/cobill/ Sun, 10 Apr 2016 13:53:24 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=1490 Kate Callahan / Davey O

Friday May 20 8pm

]]>
Benefit Concert: http://buttonwood.org/benefit-concert/ Sun, 10 Apr 2016 13:51:35 +0000 http://buttonwood.org/?p=1488 Larry Kaplan, David Paton, and Tom White

Saturday May 14 8pm

]]>